Home > Art, Food for Thought > Retro Mac Theme

Retro Mac Theme

Retro Mac Theme.  It’s already pretty much everywhere, so there is really very little to add to the stories about how Steve Jobs’ death last week is the end of something BIG.  He was larger than life in building Apple, NeXT, Pixar, and all, and the Macintosh is something more than just another PC.

This new retro Mac theme for WordPress is just another way to offer a tribute to the visionary and his legacy.

But I do want to reiterate two of his many quotes, which leave a lasting impression on me.

When you’re a carpenter making a beautiful chest of drawers, you’re not going to use a piece of plywood on the back, even though it faces the wall and nobody will ever see it. You’ll know it’s there, so you’re going to use a beautiful piece of wood on the back. For you to sleep well at night, the aesthetic, the quality, has to be carried all the way through.

And:

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

I was an old fan. I used an old Macintosh SE in the late 80s and a classic in the early 90s.  Bought a PowerPC Mac clone later in the 90s.  And used an original Newton until it was superseded by my various PalmOS devices. But I kept using the old Newton as a game handset in the toilet until the screen and other components finally died in the early 2000s.

I switched back to Macintosh in 2009 when I got fed up with various things on PCs and haven’t looked back since.  I’m using an iPad, too, and am planning to move to and iPhone 4S when my carrier starts selling it next week.

I know what I want to become.  Though it has nothing to do with following any particular bandwagon, I’ve been convinced that the Mac and Apple world has been much better at capturing the magic of a beautiful chest of drawers than most electronic devices.  I’m not locked into the path of Apple, but things keep working for me now, at least for now.  For that I thank Steve Jobs – may he RIP.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

